You are here: > reports & results > australia results > nsw states 2019

OK Dinghy NSW State Championships 2020

Wangi RSL Ametuer Sailing Club, Lake Macquarie, 7 – 8 November 2020

Report by: Andrew Thyrd

The weekend 7th & 8th November 2020 saw the 2020/2021 edition of the NSW OK Dinghy State Championships, hosted by Wangi RSL Ametuer Sailing Club on Lake Macquarie. 22 OK sailors from NSW clubs Wangi RSL ASC, Drummoyne SC, Woollahra SC and CYCA were joined by 6 sailors from Queensland clubs Southport YC and RQYS.

Saturday 7th Nov 2020

With a moderate southerly forecast, the days racing started with briefing and the fleet heading to the race course NE of Wangi point on Lake Macquarie.

Race 1: started early afternoon in a pleasant 15 knot southerly, which not long after the first lap built to 20 knots gusting 25 knots. Locals Tim Davies took 1st, Mark Skelton 2nd and Paul Foster 3rd. With plenty of white knuckle sailing to go around, it was decided after the first race the fleet would return to shore bright eyed with stories to compare of top speeds and involuntary centreboard inspections.

Following saturdays racing the fleet retired to the nearby Wangi RSL restaurant, where banter around the usual interstate rivalries were put on hold to watch the Bledisloe cup, with a good result (for most) to top off a great day of sailing.

Sunday 8th Nov 2020

Sundays forecast was for much lighter conditions, with PRO Tony Outteridge sending the fleet out late morning for four races.

Race 2: returning to the same racing area as Saturday, race 2 started in a promising 8-10 knots SE. Local Paul Foster making a return to the class after a 12 year hiatus took 1st, Mark 2nd and Tim 3rd.

Race 3: started soon after and with the breeze fading to 5- 8 knots, an individual recall saw some surprises in the fleet. Mark Rutherford found an early lead from a pin end start which he held to take 1st, followed by Tim 2nd and Paul 3rd.

Race 4: Now early afternoon, Race 3 started in a similar conditions to race 2, with the fleet split to both corners looking for gusts and favourable shifts. Sydney sailor David Clarke in his return to the class after 30 years took 1st, followed by Mark in 2nd and Tim 3rd.

Race 5: soon followed with similarly light conditions with Grant Wakefield finding an early lead to take 1st, Mark 2nd and David 3rd.

After a huge Sunday of racing and five races over the weekend completed, Mark Skelton was 1st overall with four seconds, Tim Davies in 2nd and Paul Foster 3rd. A testament to the quality of racing and depth of sailing across the fleet, the series had five different race winners and participants impressed with the close and challenging racing across the fleet, and the fantastic venue that Wangi Wangi is to go sailing.

A big thanks to Wangi RSL Ametuer Sailing Club for hosting the event, and to Tony Outteridge and his team for running a great weekend of sailing.

OK Dinghy NSW State Championships 2020 Results
#Sail NoBoat NameSkipperClubSers ScoreR5R4R3R2R1
1AUS 790JABMark SkeltonWASC8.
2AUS 791Pretty FlyTim DaviesWASC9.
3AUS 784ToxicPaul FosterSLMASC11.
4AUS 7TeddyDavid ClarkeCYCA15.
5AUS 757Total RecallMark RutherfordDSC19.
6AUS 708Green Eggs and HamKelvin HoldtSYC22.
7AUS 776Space MonkeyGrant WakefieldDSC26.
8AUS 778Jimmy WongJames BevisWSC28.0DNF12.
978Slippery when WetJohn CondieWSC32.
10AUS 785BellaAnthony GalanteRQYS33.
11AUS 793Boo YaDavid VincentSYC37.
12AUS 792HoudiniSteven HumphrisSYC46.
13AUS 732BarelyDavid HaseldineDSC48.
14AUS 750AjaxCub BarnettDSC50.
15AUS 772NanniSteven ShaleSYC52.
16AUS 702Fat DogJames HendersonWASC55.
17AUS 788Tokyo DriftJim DwyerDSC69.
18AUS 781LionAndrew ThyrdDSC70.
19AUS 742Holy GuacamoleGareth WellsWASC70.
20AUS 759Shades of GreyErik ThompsonSYC71.
21AUS 753Aus753Bruce SchofieldWASC72.
22AUS 762Round the OutsideJoel SkeltonWASC92.0DNCDNCDNCDNCDNF

DNC, DNS, DNF, OCS, BFD, UFD etc.: 23